2023 VRA Awards Recipients & Recognition

Presented at the 41st annual conference, San Antonio, Texas

  • Ann McShane Emory University
Keywords: Visual Resources Association (VRA), Awards Committee, honorary, awardees, Distinguished Service Award, Honorary Life Membership Award, Internship Awards


The Visual Resources Association (VRA) presented four awards to sixteen deserving individuals at the 41st annual conference in San Antonio, Texas on September 27th, 2023. This group of 2023 awardees includes students, retirees, career-long VRA members, and brand new faces.

The 2023 recipient of the VRA Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is Greg Reser, University of California San Diego’s (UCSD) Art Library Image Cataloger/Metadata Specialist (retired). Jenni Rodda, Manager of Digital Media and Computer Services at the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University (retired) is a new VRA Honorary Life Member. The 2022 Internship Award recipient was Sagan Thacker of Asheville, North Carolina. The 2023 Internship Awardee is Marco Lanier, a graduate student at Simmons University in Boston. Twelve were selected as recipients of the 2023 vrcHost Membership Awards, including Ezekiel Amari McGee, Gina Caprari, Charlie P. Coffey, Jennifer Galipo, Joan Jocson-Singh, Peter Kaiser, Gina Palumbo, Mimosa Shah, Molly Schoen, Michelle Schweickart, and Warner West.

Author Biography

Ann McShane, Emory University

Ann McShane is the Digital Asset Librarian at Pitts Theology Library, Candler School of Theology, Emory University. They are the 2022-2024 VRA Treasurer and a member of the Awards Committee. 

Association News